Friday, 8 January 2010

I'm sick*cough*

I have bad cough and cold since three days ago.And today i have a running nose*sniff*.My voice changed a little and my throat memang itchy to the max!I stayed up quite late last night.I think i went to bed around 2ish am.Last night there were Year 8 and PSR students gave me a call and said they wanted to start their tuition a.s.a.p.The Year 8 students should be starting their class today actually.But im not feeling well so i have to turn them down.God Willing, their class will start on Monday.For this year i don't think i will open any tuition class for PSR level.The only thing that might change my mind to teach them(if i ever changed my mind in the future) is because starting this year they have a brand new subject, Social Studies.That means PSR students for this year need to work hard because they are no longer sitting PSR exam for 5 subjects, but 6 subjects.Jia yo students, jia yo!

In my view, it is good to make more viable options for the kids(i mean more subjects) and in the aspect of education, for those students who are interested to study more in depth about this subject they can take social studies course at the tertiary level.Me myself love social studies, it is like a combination of all courses in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences(FASS) into one.Beside it is so rugi for us anak Brunei to waste the free education privileges given by our beloved HM.Long live HM!Long live!

Speaking of which, i am so proud to be a Bruneian and memegang IC Kuning hehe.Under HM rules, we are 'spoiled' by him in so many ways like free medical fees, free education, NO tax (except for road tax where we only have to pay ONCE a year), huge subsidy supported by the government for his people like cars.Due to this, most Bruneians change their cars like changing clothes(that's also include me hahaha..but im about to sell one of my car.Interested?).Sebuah rumah have a minimum of 2-3 cars(baru minimum..belum max lagi).There's more..Brunei is so much unique in its very own way..Geographically and academically speaking, it is so hard to distinguish rural area in Brunei.An area/areas considered to be rural in terms of their:
1.housing condition
2.occupation
3.literacy rate
4.oter facilities

We know that most people who live in rural area are typically farmers,fishermen, wooden house etc. But in Brunei, it's different.They drive Toyota Vios or Mitsubishi Lancer,they have concrete double-storey houses, work in the government sector and they own AT LEAST 2 Astros. They only go for fishing as a hobby or just to kill the boredom.

In the context of Southeast Asian region,we can't compare Brunei with neighbourhood countries like Thailand,Singapore and Malaysia in terms of development.We don't have skyscrapers and modern airport like Malaysia and Singapore respectively.But again, there is one quality that ONLY Brunei has in SEA..I guess we already know that.Definitely not oil and gas, other countries also have it.Have a good guess what is it.Surrender?Hehehe..That's, my friend, what i called PEACE.Memang sesuai dengan namanya 'Abode of Peace'.Too peaceful as a matter of fact.You can't find this at any countries in SEA.No bomb,demonstration or war,no terrorist or separatist movement that we have to worry about and so forth.We are totally free from these things.The only thing that we worried about is traffic-jam(itu pun only during the peak hours).I repeat, we only worried about traffic-jam or congested road.That's all!And for that reason as well, i believe that is why most foreigners prefer to work here in Brunei. In fact that they have no intention at all to go back to their country!Food is cheap.We have B$1 stalls i.e. the Pasar Malam(Night Market) in Gadong and nasi katok(nasi bungkus) is, oh my god, so everywhere.My point is,sometimes development is not the key or answer to everything.What's the point of having all this modern technology crap if we can't/don't live in peace and harmony.Be considerate and tolerant to one another.

No comments:

Post a Comment

You say what you gotta say